NEW MASSACHUSETTS SICK TIME LAW
Massachusetts voters have voted to require employers, even small ones, to offer sick time to their employees. It may be paid or unpaid depending on the size of the employer. See below for more details. ConnectPay is following the development of this law carefully.
We offer a FREE REVIEW of a companies current payroll processes. We recently showed a company how they could save $500,000 of direct and indirect costs over a four year period by re-engineering how they collect data and manage the payroll function and moving them away from one of the national providers who were charging them significantly more than the going rate for a company their size. How much can we save you??? Call me NOW to find out!
This law would entitle employees in Massachusetts to earn and use sick time according to certain conditions beginning July 1, 2015.
Employees who work for employers having eleven or more employees can earn and use up to 40 hours of paid sick time per calendar year, while employees working for smaller employers can earn and use up to 40 hours of unpaid sick time per calendar year.
An employer shall provide a minimum of one hour of earned sick time for every thirty hours worked by an employee. Employees shall begin accruing earned sick time commencing with the date of hire of the employee or the date this law becomes effective, whichever is later, but employees shall not be entitled to use accrued earned sick time until the 90th calendar day following commencement of their employment. On and after this 90 day period, employees may use earned sick time as it accrues.
What Employers Are Affected?
The law would cover both private and public employers, except that employees of a particular city or town would be covered only if, as required by the state constitution, the proposed law were made applicable by local or state legislative vote or by appropriation of sufficient funds to pay for the benefit. Earned paid sick time would be compensated at the same hourly rate paid to the employee when the sick time is used.
- Companies with 11 or more employees must now provide one hour of paid time for every 30 hours worked in a calendar year
- Companies with under 11 employees must now provide one hour of Unpaid time for every 30 hours worked in a calendar year.
Under What Conditions Must An Employer Provide This Sick Time To An Employee?
- (1) care for the employee’s child, spouse, parent, or parent of a spouse, who is suffering from a physical or mental illness, injury, or medical condition that requires home care, professional medical diagnosis or care, or preventative medical care; or
- (2) care for the employee’s own physical or mental illness, injury, or medical condition that requires home care, professional medical diagnosis or care, or preventative medical care; or
- (3) attend the employee’s routine medical appointment or a routine medical appointment for the employee’s child, spouse, parent, or parent of spouse; or
- (4) address the psychological, physical or legal effects of domestic violence as defined in subsection (g 1/2) of section 1 of chapter 151A, except that the definition of employee in subsection (a) will govern for purposes of this section.
When Can An Employee Begin To Use This Earned Sick Time?
- Employees could begin to use earned sick time on the 90th day after hire.
- Employees could carry over up to 40 hours of unused sick time to the next calendar year, but could not use more than 40 hours in a calendar year.
- Employers would not have to pay employees for unused sick time at the end of their employment.
- If an employee missed work for a reason eligible for earned sick time, but agreed with the employer to work the same number of hours or shifts in the same or next pay period, the employee would not have to use earned sick time for the missed time, and the employer would not have to pay for that missed time.
- Employers would be prohibited from requiring such an employee to work additional hours to make up for missed time, or to find a replacement employee.
For more information, or for a FREE REVIEW of your payroll processes, call me NOW! Right now is the best time to consider a change to your payroll company. The beginning of any quarter is a the right time to switch payroll companies, although the beginning of a new year is the absolute best time to change payroll companies.